First Story National Writing Competition shortlist announced!

We are delighted to announce the shorlist for First Story’s National Writing Competition 2014-15.

With over 3,000 entries from state secondary schools across the country, it is a huge achievement to be shortlisted for the competition and we would like to congratulate every student who has got this far.

All the longlisted pieces are published on our website here, and the shortlisted selection will be published in a professional anthology and launched at the Prize Giving event at LSE on Monday 9th March. The winner and runner up from each Key Stage will read their piece, and competition judges Anthony McGowan, James Dawson and Kate Kingsley will discuss the idea of writing about ‘Home’.

For more information on the prize giving please see here.

The winners of each key stage will also win a place on an Arvon creative writing residential and the overall winner will have their piece published on The Sunday Times online.

Key Stage Three Shortlist:

Phoenix Bergman, Acland Burghley School
Charlie Kelly, Dixons Allerton Academy
Mariela Krasteva, Woodside High School
Mukahang Limbu, Oxford Spires Academy
Misbah Shaheen, Feversham College
Isaac Silver, Wymondham High Academy

Key Stage Four Shortlist:

Safah Ahmed, Loxford School of Science and Technology
Sharmin Akthar, Oaklands School
Barirah Ashfak, Feversham College
Damayanti Chatterjee, Herschel Grammar School
Erin Gilbey, Lincoln Christ Hospital School
Huw Wilson, Ysgol Dewi Sant

Key Stage Five Shortlist:

Jake Marmot, Mossbourne Community Academy
Ayesha Malik, Burlington Danes Academy
Esme Partridge, Oxford Spires Academy

Teachers’ Shortlist:

Sui Anukka, Matthew Moss High School
James Lawton, Matthew Moss High School
Melissa Lord, Banovallum School
Andy Maclachlan, Pimlico Academy
Kira Roberts, Pimlico Academy

Home pic small


Subscribe to our e-mail newsletter to receive updates.