Are you passionate about improving the lives of young people and giving them the courage to be creative?
So are we!

Help your students gain confidence and literacy skills through creative writing, with support from our skilled and friendly team. We accept applications throughout the year.

 

OUR PROGRAMME

We deliver an exciting and comprehensive programme of residencies, activities and events on a year-long, term-long and week-long basis.  Full details can be found on the What We Do page and in our Programme Brochure.

HOW TO GET INVOLVED

Spotlight on CONNECT

For a limited time we have an exciting new programme offer for schools called Connect. This programme is priced at just £935 and is perfect for schools looking to explore the power of creative writing with their students.

Available throughout the Spring and Summer Terms 2018.

For further details please follow the links below:

First Story – Connect Brochure 2018

FS 2017-18 Application Form – Connect

Long-Term Residencies:

We are currently open to applications from secondary schools in the East MidlandsEast Yorkshire, West YorkshireLondon and the South West including Gloucestershire (in partnership with Cheltenham Festivals). For schools outside these locations, please do still send us an expression of interest as we may be working in your region in the future.

For an informal chat about taking part in our programme, please get in touch with the member of the Programme Team who is nearest to you:

North Andy Hill andy.hill[at]firststory.org.uk
East Midlands Jess Tickell jess.tickell[at]firststory.org.uk
London Sophie Lloyd-Catchpole sophie.lloyd[at]firststory.org.uk
South West Deborah May deborah.may[at]firststory.org.uk
Hull Dave Windass dave.windass[at]firststory.org.uk
Other Regions First Story Team info@firststory.org.uk

 

COST AND SUBSIDY

Our programme costs reflect the quality and impact of our work, and represent excellent value. For details of current costings, please contact the Regional Programme Officer for your region.

If your school is in one of our key regions shown above and meets our eligibility criteria, you can apply to take part in our programme at a subsidised rate. We also create bespoke packages for trusts and academy chains, so if your trust would be interested in running First Story across multiple schools please contact the Regional Programme Officer for your region.

If your school is outside of our key regions and/or not eligible for subsidy, we would still love to hear from you as there may be other ways you can get involved with our work.

To be considered for a place as a school partner, please fill in the following application form.

General Application Form 2017-18

 

ELIGIBILITY

First Story is committed to addressing educational inequality. We focus on working with schools in which 50% of students live in the most deprived areas according to Income Deprivation Affecting Children Index* (School Census Spring 2017*) and/or a higher than national average percentage of students are eligible for free school meals.

If your school does not fit neatly within this criteria but is keen to work with us, please get in touch.  We consider each school on a case-by-case basis and may have opportunities for other forms of partnership.

 

We look forward to hearing from you.